Colleges That Change Lives

Changing Lives. One Student at a Time.

Our Board of Directors

After over 35 years of counseling students and families, Loren Pope retired and in 2006 passed the torch on to Martha (Marty) O'Connell. Having served in college admissions for twenty-eight years, most recently as vice president for enrollment and dean of admission at McDaniel College (Westminster, MD), Ms. O’Connell has counseled thousands of students about college choice. Today she devotes herself to the Colleges That Change Lives mission: helping students and families better understand the college admissions process to find the best college fit possible. Ms. O'Connell is available for speaking engagements and can be reached by email or phone (410.857.8748).
Martha O'Connell

Martha O'Connell
click here to email
Executive Director
CTCL, Inc.
Westminster, MD

Suzanne Lepley Suzanne Lepley (Director and Chair, Membership/Nominations Committee)
(renewed term 2009-2013)
Associate Director of Admissions
Kalamazoo College,
Kalamazoo, MI
Ken Anselment Ken Anselment (Director) (2009-2013)
Dean of Admissions & Financial Aid
Lawrence University
Appleton, WI
Josh Boshoven John Boshoven (Director) (2012-2014)
Counselor for Continuing Education
Community High School
Ann Arbor, MI
Chris Cowie Chris Cowie (Director) (2009-2013)
Senior Associate Director of Admissions
Denison University,
Granville, OH
Jennifer DesMaisons Jennifer DesMaisons (Director) (2012-2014)
Director of College Counseling
The Putney School
Putney, VT
Lisa Hill Lisa Hill (Director) (2011-13)
Associate Director of Admissions
Goucher College
Towson, MD
Bruce Hunter Bruce Hunter (Director) (2012-14)
Director of College Counseling
Rowland Hall
Salt Lake City, UT
Greg Kern Greg Kern (Director) (2012-14)
Associate Director of Admissions
Hope College
Holland, MI
P J Petrone Philip "P.J." Petrone (Director) (2011-13)
Co-Director of College Counseling
Marymount High School
Los Angeles, CA
Sheri Salmon Sheri Salmon (Director) (2012-14)
Associate Vice President for Admission
Birmingham-Southern College
Birmingham, AL
Nancy Sinex Nancy Sinex (Treasurer and Chair, Finance Committee)
(renewed term 2009-2013)
Director of Admissions
Earlham College
Richmond, IN
Virginia Buege Virginia Buege
(Director Emeritus)
Dallas, TX
Maria Furtado

Maria Furtado
(Past Chair 2007-2011)